Apple and Craisin(R) Crisp (can be gluten-free)

Northern Nevada had the ‘perfect’ weather for growing apples (including our dwarf tree), berries (plenty frozen in the freezer) and pears (not us, but a friend gave me two big bags which are now cooked and frozen as pear sauce waiting for me to can them).

So, I have been looking for apple recipes and making apple items.  So far I have made Crock pot Applesauce with cinnamon (thickened at the end with arrowroot) and an Apple and Craisins® Crisp.  I realized that I rarely make a recipe the way I find it (tweak it for Gluten-free flour or in this case I combined/made up my own recipe).  So, if you like apple crisp and happen to have some Craisins in the house you might want to try it (with regular or gluten-free flour).  Leave a reply and let me know what you think!

Apple and Craisins® Crisp   (made a 9×13 pan)

Filling:

8 cups cut up apples (and rinsed afterwards)

½ cup white sugar (** our apples are tart so I started out with more sugar than if the apples were sweet)

1 cup Craisins® (dried cranberries with sugar)

2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice

Topping:

1 cup rolled oats  (gluten-free or regular)

1 cup brown sugar

½ cup flour (gluten-free or regular)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ cup butter or margarine (I used the Smart Balance that states it is good for cooking)

½ cup chopped nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Mix apples, sugar, Craisins and Lemon Juice together and put into pan.  Combine oats, sugar, flour and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Add the optional chopped nuts.  Spread topping over the filling.  Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until fruit is tender and topping is golden.

Enjoy! – H

One thought on “Apple and Craisin(R) Crisp (can be gluten-free)

Leave a Reply

