Gluten-free (Strawberry) Shortcake

When I was growing up my mom always made Bisquick type biscuits for Strawberry Shortcake and I continued to make it for years, but in a gluten-free form.  When strawberries first hit the local stores a few months ago I went looking for a new recipe for Strawberry Shortcake (either gluten-free or regular since I knew how to revise the recipe).  I found the following in a Google search:

http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/strawberry-shortcake

This shortcake is fluffy and my family really likes it so I think it will be my new standard.

gluten free, gluten-free, recipe, shortcake

Here is my version of the shortcake

Gluten Free Shortcake
Ingredients:
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup shortening (or coconut oil)
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 cup gluten-free flour (* my mixture doesn’t have xanthan gum in it)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/2 cup milk

whipped cream
fruit – fresh or frozen strawberries, sliced or other favorite fruit

Directions:
In a bowl, cream sugar and shortening (or coconut oil). Add egg and vanilla; beat well.
Combine dry ingredients and add alternately with milk to the creamed mixture.
Spread in a greased 9 inche square baking pan.
Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.
Cool on wire rack.
Cut into nine servings. Split each serving horizontally, fill with the fruit and add whipped cream on top.

Enjoy!  – H

Leave a Reply

