Random thoughts

So, I just realized I have 41 posts waiting to be posted!   But, they all need something – photo, recipe, one piece of info, etc, etc and right now I don’t feel like finishing any of them (sorry to some friends who are waiting for me to post at least one).

Instead, I figured I needed to write this one about random topics:

a) Drought, rain, lightning and wildfires – Did you know that at least California and Nevada are in a major drought (if you watch the news you can’t miss it).  This afternoon I am listening to much needed rain, hearing thunder and praying the lightning I see doesn’t start a fire.  In the last few weeks we have had wildfires started by lightning, power outages and 100 year flooding (luckily not in our neighborhood).

b) How do you want to be remembered?  Some people think of that sentence in the ‘when I die’ context, but I am thinking about it in the day to day interaction with people you know and don’t know.  At the beginning of June I spent time helping build frames for our local Quilt Show (mostly with people who didn’t know me at all or very well).  I was happy a few weeks later when a ‘new’ friend told me that her husband liked me.  Boy, that made me feel good.

c) Cancer stinks – Currently two friends have family members that are dealing with cancer.  My family went through this 20+ years ago and it doesn’t get any easier to hear that someone I know and care about is going through it.  I so wish a cure could be found so families don’t need to go through this anymore.

d) What are you happy about?  On Facebook I saw some friends doing the #100happydays posts where they post at least one thing that makes them happy each day.  I decided to join in.  I am up to over 40 days now and I don’t see me ending at 100 days.  The posts I make are not huge items, but they make me look for something good every day.  I am also realizing that I post a lot less of the ‘bad’ now also.

I know this is not a usual post, but they are definitely topics I have been thinking about lately.  I promise to finish at least one of the draft posts this week so my backlog doesn’t get even bigger.

So, what have you been thinking about lately??

Later – H

 

Leave a Reply

